Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

NPF wins 21 seats, leads in nine

By:  Tupaki Desk   |   28 Feb 2013 1:25 PM GMT
The Nagaland People's Front (NPF) Thursday won 21 seats and was leading nine others as officials counted votes to decide who will control the 60-member assembly in Nagaland.

The NPF is the main constituent of the ruling DAN government.

The Congress, the main opposition party, had won only three seats till 2 p.m. and was leading in another three. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) bagged two seas, election officials said.

A partner in the DAN, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won one seat while the Janata Dal-United was leading in one seat.

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphu Rio is likely to retain his Northern Angami seat for the fifth time.

Education Minister Nyeiwang Konyak was, however, defeated by Congress candidate Eshak Konyak in Aboi constituency.

NPF's Y. Vikheho Swu defeated outgoing legislator and Congress candidate Joshua Sumi in Pughoboto.

In 2008, the NPF secured 26 seats and the Congress 23. The BJP and NCP won two seats each. Seven independents won in 2008.

DAN has the support of 35 legislators in the outgoing assembly.